"I used Alphaphonics to teach all 6 of my daughters to read as well as tutoring other children. Now my oldest daughter wants to use Alphaphonics to teach her own son to read using Alphaphonics!! I would like to purchase a copy and CD for her."

Marie Gossling, November, 2015

 

"I taught my six children....to read using this thorough phonics program.... Alpha-Phonics is not only an excellent reading program but very affordable. I was able to use the same book for all six of my children...."

Robin Stiles; January 2007


LA area group tutors hundreds of poor readers in schools
with Alpha-Phonics


Video testimonials
Baxter video - Mom teaches 5
Dr. Williams video - Used Alpha-Phonics for 22 years
We found this testimony by Lydia Grace on expotv.com


Written testimonials

We have many children

What one mother has to say about How To Tutor

Thanks for providing the materials you have.

She likes Alpha-Phonics website, especially our list of links to other resources; suggests an addition:

Customer appreciates help from Alpha-Phonics Publisher:

Love your work.

Paradigm Co. appears at Homeschool Conference:

Alpha-Phonics to be used with Downs Syndrome daughter:

Retired teacher uses Alpha-Phonics:

Thanks for donation of an Alpha-Phonics:

Has used How To Tutor for 16 years:

Parent with 6 homeschool children uses Blumenfeld's books

...for my granddaughter...

I originally heard of Alpha-Phonics

I've read a lot

A blast from the past:

Buys Alpha-Phonics for her grandchild:

I used Alpha-Phonics

Why I recommend Alpha-Phonics

Two sisters tell why they recommend Alpha-Phonics:

Several years ago

Thanks

Along with a certified course in teaching dyslexic children to read

Thank you for the reply and information.

Dear Mr. Watt: (Publisher)

"Dear Mr. Blumenfeld,"

"Wow Sam!"

"I am a new homeschooler."

"This was the answer to teaching my children to read."

"I have to say this is the best reading program out there."

Recommends Alpha-Phonics: "It's a very simple and easy to follow program."

Deaf mother teaches all her children to read with Alpha-Phonics

English as second language taught with Alpha-Phonics

Her son, taught with Alpha-Phonics, becomes National Merit Scholar, goes to the Air Force Academy

A dad teaches his 4 year old son to read

Missionaries use Alpha-Phonics to teach people in Thailand

Mom of 10 has taught 7 with Alpha-Phonics

Proposes Santa Barbara schools adopt Alpha-Phonics

"One day I found my 3 year old completing lesson 2 all by himself."

"In just a few minutes a day my little girl has successfully been able to learn to read."

Downs Syndrome 14 year old learns to read!

"If there was one correct choice I made in curriculum when deciding to home-school, it was Alpha-Phonics."

"I can't say enough things about this reading curriculum! Its non-consumable."

"Found in Rainbow Resource Center Catalog."

"The best reading program I have used!!!"

I just had to write

We appreciate Alpha-Phonics

We have a 14-year-old son who has Downs Syndrome.

 

 

We have many children and I homeschool them.

When my third child was ready to begin learning to read,I used a simple reading program that I had heard about. It simply did not work, at all. We used three more reading programs, and still my son could not read. As I searched the internet for "something else", I found Alpha-Phonics. My friend had mentioned it me years before, but I had forgotten about it. I sat and read through the testimonies and was hopeful for the first time. It is a fraction of the cost of other curriculum I have purchased. When I placed a call,the person I spoke to was very helpful to explain- until I felt ready to confidently teach my son. I will never forget the first time he began to read! What a joy to watch him learn to read with understanding, after trying for three years unsuccessfully!One thing that I love, is that the whole thing is contained in one book. Our family is starting Alpha-Phonics with two more students, and so grateful to know that IT WILL WORK!
Rachaelle Curran, Lincoln, Illinois --- March 2011
Top of Page

Hello, My daughter is 8 and has just finished 2nd grade in our home school.

We are using How To Tutor and we love it. It is straightforward, organized, and superior to so many products you find today with a lot of miscellaneous [material] on the pages.
Linda Melton -- July 2010 Top of Page

Thanks for providing the materials you have.

They have blessed our family very much! I love using the Alpha Phonics Reading program for my three children. My eleven year old twins are now both avid readers, eventhough they each learned to read at different ages. My five year old son is now learning to read through Alpha Phonics and is doing well. Along with the Alpha Phonics, we incorporated the McGuffey Readers and the Classic Curriculum Reading and Writing workbooks. This has been especially nice since it has simplified my teaching and because it also allows my children to work independently for most of their study time.
Thank you so much and may the Lord richly bless you.
Sincerely, Patty Glaviano -- March 2010 Top of Page

She likes Alpha-Phonics website, especially our list of links to other resources; suggests an addition:

Hi,
"I have found several of the resources listed on howtotutor.com/links.htm quite useful, and I would like to thank you for the time and effort invested so far; thanks!"
Michelle -- May 2009 (We added her link to our list) Top of Page

LA area group tutors hundreds of poor readers in schools with Alpha-Phonics

Dear Mr. Watt:

WECAN Foundation is a Supplemental Educational Services provider certified by the California Department of Education to provide after-school tutorial services to students in grades K-12. WE CAN works with numerous school districts throughout the Greater Los Angeles area and, as a consequence, we serve students who come from all over the world. Many of them are learning English as a second language. We provide tutors to work with them, one-on-one, after school to help them build their reading skill, which is key to learning in all subject areas. We have used your Alpha-Phonics, A Primer for Beginning Readers since the beginning of our program as the basic primer for teaching basic phonics. Currently, we have over 1200 students receiving our tutorial services.

Alpha-Phonics has been used successfully in other remedial tutorial programs in Los Angeles for many years and, based upon their recommendations, we decided to use it for WE CAN. We have used Alpha-Phonics for thousands of students and have found it to be very well organized and comprehensive in its review of phonics. The students enjoy the large print format and the primer is both user-friendly and durable. It covers the basics of reading very well and is reusable. Being reusable is very important because, as a nonprofit organization, we operate on very limited funds.

Here are some excerpts from letters written by parents of our students explaining how much improvement their children made; sometimes even almost overnight:

“My daughter Marilyn was fortunate to receive tutoring from WE CAN Foundation. Her knowledge of the English has increased significantly: she now knows how to read and wants to use a dictionary. WE CAN is behind her success … as well as the instructional material (Alpha-Phonics) provided.”

“This letter is to appreciate the services my daughter received. My daughter was having a lot of problem in her Reading. Now she is able to read and tell me what she read. She went from a D to a B-. She can now write and explain a lot to me and to her teachers. She advanced overall in her other classes as well because she was able to focus and study much better than before.”

“Mi hija Wendy aprendió mucho con su tutor. Te enseño a leer mucho. Hora le gasta leer porque puede leer….”

Thank you for helping us at WECAN by making the Alpha-Phonics books available at a school discount rate.

Michél McLaughlin
Director
WECAN – SI SE PUEDE
11 March 2009 Top of Page

Love your work.

-Emily Hall of Stuben, Wisconsin February 2009 Top of Page

Customer appreciates help from Alpha-Phonics Publisher:

Peter, thank you for your quick response and wonderful suggestions. I purchased Alpha-Phonics last night and will definitely stick with it. I just wanted to let you know how much I appreciate your detailed response. Great customer service!

--Laura Campbell, May 2008 Top of Page

Paradigm Co. appears at Homeschool Conference:

This is to confirm that we have received your registration for the 14th Annual WATCH Conference and Family Retreat, August 7-9 at Seattle Pacific University, Seattle, WA.
We all win if we work together to bring many people in for encouraging and equipping them for their homeschool journey.

--Beverly Miller, Washington Assn. Of Teaching Christian Homes, July 2008 Top of Page

Alpha-Phonics to be used with Downs Syndrome daughter:

I am the purchasing agent for a small homeschool resource center in Parker, Colorado. We are in desperate need of Alpha-Phonics books. We have been selling them for the past three or four years.
This is the only phonics program I recommend. If people ask for choices I give them, but this is how I taught four of my five children to read, including 3 with special needs. I am getting ready for the last one, a daughter with Down[s] Syndrome. Although I have used many things getting her ready for Alpha-Phonics, it is the only thing we will use to teach phonics and reading.

--Nancy Casterline, Christian Home Educators of Colorado, April, 2008 Top of Page

Retired teacher uses Alpha-Phonics:

I am a retired middle school teacher and have used Alpha-Phonics for many years. I am now tutoring a seven year old whose mother wanted her son to get extra help in reading.

--Robert Maresca, Brooklyn, NY, June 2008 Top of Page

Thanks for donation of an Alpha-Phonics:

Dear Peter Watt/Paradigm Co., On behalf of the Alaska Private and Home Educators Association we would like to express our sincere appreciation for your generous donation [Of an Alpha-Phonics book]to our silent auction which was held during the APHEA Conference on April 18 and 19. Thank you for your generosity, thoughtfulness and encouragement to home educators in Alaska and elsewhere.
Because of you and people like you our silent auction was tremendously successful and will help to being inspirational and highly desirable speakers to our next conference.
Thank you again,

--Doug & Wendy McKinnis for the APHEA Board. Anchorage, AK, April 2008 Top of Page

Has used How To Tutor for 16 years:

I have used How To Tutor for the past 16 years. I saw information that a workbook [To the How To Tutor textbook] was now available. I wanted to check to be sure you were still in business [We are!] so I could order it.

--Alexandra Dkius, Duncanville, TX June 2008 Top of Page

Parent with 6 homeschool children uses Blumenfeld's books

Debbie from the Susanville Indian Rancheria School in Susanville, California called Paradigm Co. in May to order Sam Blulmenfeld's How To Tutor and his Alpha-Phonics on CD Rom for the school. When asked how she learned about the materials she said a parent with 6 homeschool children recommended the school get the materials for its own use.

--Debbie, Susanville Indian Rancheria School; Susanville, CA, - Contacted The Paradigm Co. in May 2008 Top of Page

...for my granddaughter...

I've used How To Tutor and Alpha-Phonics in past years when I tutored elementary students. This order [For Alpha-Phonics & accompanying Workbook & Readers] is being sent to my daughter for her to use with my granddaughter.

--Leanna M. Thill; New Jersey, March 2008 Top of Page

I originally heard of Alpha-Phonics

from a Cathy Duffy review book. I taught my 3 boys to read using Alpha-Phonics, and was very pleased with the program.

--Sandra Simpson, Fishers, IN February 2008 Top of Page

I've read a lot

about the [McGuffey] Readers in American History and wondered if they were still available for my nieces. Thank you for your wonderful service in distributing them.

--Sarah Gervase, Fairfax, Virginia - December 2007 Top of Page

A blast from the past:

20 years ago I found Alpha-Phonics - it was the first resource that made perfect sense to me and all of the resources I have produced since then have been based on Sam Blumenfeld's work. Can you please pass on my sincere thanks to him.

Jean Clyde, Educator & tutor November, - Tasmania, Australia Top of Page

Buys Alpha-Phonics for her grandchild:

"[Alpha-Phonics] I used it myself 18 years ago - this one if for a grandchild."
Pamela H. Eugene, OR. November 2007 Top of Page

I used Alpha-Phonics

to teach my daughter. [I] Borrowed the book from a friend. Now I would like to use this with my grandchildren.

-Shelly P. Fremont, Nebraska, October 2007 Top of Page

Two sisters tell why they recommend Alpha-Phonics:

These two entries were posted by sisters on HSA Advisor in January 2007:

Jones Family blog:
Alpha-Phonics:

When teaching your children to read phonics is really the only way to go and Alpha-Phonics is probably the best program out there. This is a no nonsense approach to learning to read. By no nonsense I mean there are no distracting pictures to take the child?s focus away from the letters and their sounds. Ellyn Davis, seminar teacher on reading to home school parents, says: ?You cannot find a more reasonably priced reading program than Alpha-Phonics? I am convinced it is the best reading program available to parents who want to teach their children to read.? It?s true. My sister, Robin, taught all six of her kids to read by it and she used the same manual [Alpha-Phonics] over and over again!

Alpha-Phonics is an effective step by step intensive phonics program for teaching reading to beginners of all ages. Designed for easy use by teachers, tutors, and parents.

(www.hasadvisor.com/blog/?p=17)
Posted January 2007 Top of Page

Why I recommend Alpha-Phonics

So you want to teach your child to read? I understand if you are apprehensive to start such a seemingly enormous task. Let me assure you it is not as difficult as you might think, especially if you have the right stuff. I highly recommend Alpha-Phonics, it contains everything you need to meet your goal.

I taught my six children, now ages ten to twenty, to read using this thorough phonics program. The lessons are short and simple, easy to implement. After a few lessons, my children were able to read other simple readers. There are no pictures, which I found to be a distraction to children who are just beginning to read. Because of the solid phonics emphasis, my children also received a sound start in spelling. Alpha-Phonics is not only an excellent reading program but very affordable. I was able to use the same book for all six of my children and today they are excellent readers.

Robin Stiles - Posted January 2007 Top of Page

Several years ago,

I received your book Alpha-Phonics from a homeschool book club, probably Christian Books. After using several different programs, with varying levels of success, I tried this with the youngest of my five children. He was then 3 1/2. By age 4, he was reading simple readers such as Bob's Books. At 4 1/2, he could read the Burgess Animal books and anything else he wanted. He is by far my strongest and fastest reader. Now at age 15 he is pursuing a Bachelor's degree in English Literature at BYU.
I will be ordering this book very soon for my grandchildren.
email / no name given - January 2007 Top of Page

Thanks

It is so great to find out that we can train our children and grandchildren the early Chrisitan values and Godly principles that are GONE from Public Education today. Sadly, bringing these principles back to US education seems to be impossible...other than prayer. I have no doubt that God can return our country to it's old Bible-based values if only we give Him the power to re-enter our educational systems.
Thank you and God Bless your efforts, Sharon Verner - October 2006 Top of Page

Along with a certified course in teaching dyslexic children to read,

I have chosen this program as my preferred phonics program. I have already purchased the How To Tutor book and am very pleased with it.
Leslie Naghshineh - August 2006 Top of Page

Thank you for the reply and information. It is very helpful.

I am presently using Alpha-Phonics. I actually bought the book many years ago when I was taking care of a 13 year old who could not even read 3 letter words. He had been in one "of the best" public schools in Texas, but he could not read. He was a bright kid too, so it was a shame to see his mind go to waste. Thus, my husband saw this book in the store without ever hearing of it before, bought it, and asked me to try it. I used this book with the boy and within about 3 months he was successfully reading classic novels. Now I have my own son and I would like to teach him to read too, and I figured if Alpha-phonics worked then, it should still work now so I pulled the book back out.

Oh, with my son, Alpha-Phonics is doing really well too. What I appreciate most about the program is how quick and easy it is to use while systematically building one lesson on another. I don't have to read pages of instructions to figure out how to teach one lesson. Moreover, my son like many boys has a very short attention span so we can do a lesson in 5 minutes and it is over with. I am glad the lesson does not drag on and on. For the long lessons like Lesson 14 we break that up into several lessons to fit my son's attention span and it works for us.

Once again, thank you for your time and information.
Yes, you may use my email. I would be happy if other people were able to teach their children to read using Alpha-Phonics because they read mine along with many other positive reviews. Sincerely,
S. Tsuchiya- July 2006 Top of Page

Dear Mr. Watt: (Publisher)

Thank you for selling such fine products! Last year, while employed as a second grade teacher, I used the Alpha-Phonics and the McGuffey's Readers to help a struggling young student.

The student began the year with a reading level that was well below the first grade. He did not know enough words or phonics skills to develop any kind of reading fluency. After testing him I knew that he would need daily, remedial instruction with the use of pedagogically-sound materials.

During the school year the student worked his way through the Alpha-Phonics and three of the McGuffey's Readers (beginning with the Eclectic Primer and finishing with the Second Eclectic Reader). Over the nine-month period this child learned to read with fluency and enjoyment! By the last month of the school year, he was reading at a beginning 3rd grade level.

This child now feels comfortable with both prose and poetry, and he eagerly visits the library to check out books on a variety of subjects. With further practice I know he is destined to become a >mature, competent reader. He has "unlocked the door" to a lifetime of learning and discovery!

A Note of Interest: I'm currently taking a course in New Testament Greek, and it's a lot of fun. It's interesting to see how I must "sound each word out" to gradually increase my reading ability. Right now, I'm just like a "1st grader" reading "Primer Greek." I couldn't IMAGINE trying to learn Greek by trying to memorize the "look" of each individual word! The phonics method is the only way to go, even when you're learning the original language of the New Testament Bible.

Mr. Michael Baba
Elementary School Teacher &
Reading Specialist - July 2006 Top of Page

Wow Sam!

Thank you for putting all your past newsletters [The Blumenfeld Education Letter] on-line! As an educator in a Christian College, I like to keep up on the latest information out there. I also like to get my students to check into this same information as well. We often talk about your expertise in this field and various articles you have written regarding specific issues affecting schools today. I wish we could get copies of these newsletters and bind them in a book or folder (our ministry has a printing press) to put in the college library here. Then I could refer my students to the library as opposed to waiting weeks for them to get time for Internet access as we do not have it here ? for obvious reasons. Thank you again!! Your information on-line now is going to be a tremendous help to us education majors.

Sam Blumenfeld?s Publisher, The Paradigm Company, told Mr. Bradley he was free to copy the Blumenfeld Education Letters so he could have them bound. Anyone is free to copy them at any time)

From: Terry Bradley, Landmark Baptist College - April 2006 Top of Page

Dear Mr. Blumenfeld,

I just wanted to thank you for the wonderful books you have written. Our first copy of Alpha Phonics is still in use after 12 years. Our oldest who will be 19 years old shortly learned to read at 6 years of age using Alpha-Phonics and within one year he was reading at a 8th grade level. He now is going to the community college to get the general ed. credits needed and wants to become an enlgish/literature teacher at the college level.

Our subsequent children all learned at a later age ( 8-11) but when they were ready they picked it up very quickly and moved on to what we call chapter books and their vocabularies are terrific!

I have been home schooling/ real life educating for 19 years now and when asked what I would use for phonics instruction my answer is always, "Alpha-Phonics"!!!!

Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

PS. I must add that I had tried several other programs without any success, only frustration and confusion, before I bought the Alpha Phonics.

Sincerely, Beth McCool - December 2005 Top of Page

I am a new homeschooler

and have been using the Alpha-Phonics book with my 4 year old. I am very impressed both with how simple and organized it is for me to use, and how it is easy and effective for my son. I have a couple other phonics-type books, but none are as simplified or straight forward as this method. Very nice.... Thanks

Heidi Buckett - August 2005 Top of Page

This was the answer to teaching my children to read.

If you don't want bells and whistles and consider them a distraction to teaching reading, you will absolutely love Alpha Phonics. I sat down with my children and sounded the words out and they read back to me taking turns. Their reading took off. I used this book to create spelling lists for them as well. In my opinion, you can cover all of language arts in K and 1st grade with this book and continue into 2nd grade. My children would copy words and sentences for handwriting practice, draw pictures to go along with their words or sentences, and create sentences with words from the lesson. If you don't have $200 for the fancy stuff, this may work for you.

"catandkittens" - Westminster, MD - July 2005 Top of Page

Hello. I have to say this is the best reading program out there.

My daughter who is 9 1/2 years old is about to complete Alpha-Phonics in a few weeks. She is homeschooled. I had a question. What grade level are most people at by the time they are done with Alpha-Phonics? The reason I am asking is because I was wondering if there is a specific grade level that a child is at by the time they are finished.

I have tried other programs and after awhile I felt like something was missing from the way reading was supposed to be taught. I never felt like it covered everything that needed to be covered and then I heard about Alpha-Phonics through a homeschooling broadcast. I knew right then and there that I needed to try this program and I have had no regrets since. My daughter has not even finished the program yet and she is an awesome reader. She is to the point now where when irregular words are being taught in a lesson she automatically knows what the word is without being told. Also, she can read stories without hesitation the majority of the time. I am truly amazed at her progress and how well she is reading. She can even read cursive now as a result of my teaching her cursive with every lesson. I take each word or sentence and have her write them in cursive. I am amazed how quickly she picked up on reading cursive writing as a result of writing in cursive. I am planning on using this program with every one of my children. I would highly recommend this program to any child who is ready to read or anyone struggling to read, etc. This program is the only program that truly workes. Thanks so much for such a wonderful program.

Rachel - June 2005 Top of Page

Recommends Alpha-Phonics: "It's a very simple and easy to follow program."

I would like to be included on your mailing list. I have home-schooled my two children, ages 15 and 10 and have used your method with teaching both how to read. I recommend it to all who have asked me how I taught my children to read. It's a very simple and easy to follow program.

Mrs. Jennie Horne Top of Page

Deaf mother teaches all her children to read with Alpha-Phonics

Six years ago, my older daughter Chayah was taught using your Alpha-Phonics book and she learned to read at age 4. Today she collects books such as John Grisham's novels (her best liked books), Nancy Drew; The Boxcar Children, Smithsonian magazines, and she read almost the entire library in my living room. There were times I didn't think some books would interest her but she read from first page to last page in every book. Even rereading them. She reads books like The Complete Book of Food and Nutrition by J.I. Rodale (I always thought these books were for adults but she proved me wrong). This week she is reading "The Beautiful Mind" The Life of Mathematical Genius and Nobel Laureate John Nash.

My five year old son, Ru, just read thr entire book "The Fire Truck" to a neighbor who didn't really think he knows all the words. She demanded to know what kind of program I use to teach them. She is spreading the word.

I wanted you to know that your program does really work and I have been trying to convince many friends and relatives that it was a mistake for them to use other program to teach their children how to read. All of them were impressed by our children's (ages 10, 5 and 2- the two year old is recognizing the sound symbols) ability to read. I know you have many people tell you that your program does work but how many DEAF parents have told you that even a deaf parent who teaches children with your program does work. I am the proof because all my three children read. I recently registered my ten year old daughter in Eula public school. They knew I home-school all my children. They were surprised that my daughter has the highest reading comprehension score than anyone in their fifth and sixth grade classes. I put my daughter in public school because she wants to experience the school system and have P.E., Music, and interaction with other students for two years.

Sincerely,
Cheri Walters Top of Page

English as second language taught with Alpha-Phonics

What a pleasant surprise to find a copy of Alpha-Phonics in my school mail. For some time now, I have prayed for this day! Every time I pick up a copy of Alpha-Phonics I feel the power of the world's premier phonics reading program in my hands. It is the same year after year. For example, this year most of my second grade bilingual students are already reading on third grade level on their reading inventories. In the classroom or in private tutoring, Alpha-Phonics teaches students to read and spell - quickly and well.

Thanks for the book.
Donald Potter Odessa, TX Top of Page

Her son, taught with Alpha-Phonics, becomes National Merit Scholar, goes to the Air Force Academy

Mr. Blumenfeld:

I have wanted to write you a note for some time. Many years ago, I heard you on a Radio program, talking about the evils of "sight reading." I was convinced that you were completely right about the subject. At the time, My Son was only a Baby. I corresponded with your company, and ordered "Alpha-Phonics". It was 1984. Your book was the ONLY book I used to teach Michael to read.

I would like you to know that Michael has graduated from High School as a National Merit Scholar, and has accepted an Appointment to the United States Air Force Academy. Your book, and your educational philosophy, were key components in his education. My copy of the book was used so much, it disintegrated. So I ordered another copy, for my Daughter. She is I currently in the fourth grade, and is a straight "A" student.

I must report that I fought battle after battle with Mike's teachers about reading. At that time, here in California, "sight reading" was the encouraged method. When I told the teachers that I didn't want Mike to learn that way, they snickered at me. But I hung tough, stayed involved, and got my way. As you are no doubt aware, now California recognizes that sight reading is a counterproductive activity, producing a large number of people who cannot read, or, more importantly, think. THAT IS EXACTLY WHAT YOU SAID WOULD HAPPEN. At least they teach phonics now.

Mr. Blumenfeld, you are a prophet. Everything that you said would occur, in regards to sight reading, occurred. When my children get married and have young ones of their own, one of the first things that they will receive is a copy of your book, "Alpha-Phonics". Thank You. Respectfully Yours:

Ronald K. Vogel Top of Page

A dad teaches his 4 year old son to read

Dear Sam,

About 14 years ago I met you at the Center for Market Alternatives in Caldwell, Idaho at a talk you gave there with Ra!ph Smeed and Peter Watt. I purchased an Alpha Phonics book at that time for my son John Claude Goltry , who was 4 years old. You autographed it. I still have it and used it with his sister who is 5 years younger. I taught John 10 minutes a day about 3 days a week and in about 8 months he could read just about anything. He attended Mae Cardin's school for 2 years before it closed and then was tutored with 2 other of his classmates by a Cardin teacher who stayed in Boise for another year after the school closed. He then enrolled in the 4th grade at Greenleaf Friends Academy in Greenleaf, Idaho, west of Caldwell. He was reading post high-school level in the 5th grade. He will graduate this June, 2001, with straight A's at the top of his class. He achieved a score of 1330 on his SAT. He has been accepted at St. Johns College (the Great Books College, the College of political incorrectness) and will be attending the Santa Fe, New Mexico, campus his first year. He has expressed a desire to then rotate every other year with the Annapolis, Maryland, campus. He senses his Lord is leading him to be an educator.

His mother and I have always been thankful that God put us in contact with you and your wonderful book - Alpha Phonics. Once our children had the finest "reading tool" possible with AP they could then access the world of knowledge with ease.

Thanks again, Sam, and hope you enjoy knowing what a marvelous contribution you have made to at least one set of parents and their 2 children.

With sincerest regards, V. L. (Bud) Goltry; Boise, Idaho Top of Page

Missionaries use Alpha-Phonics to teach people in Thailand

Christian Freedom International
Washington, DC
June 22, 2001

Dear Sir,

Recently Christian Freedom International sent a team to Thailand, near the Thailand/Burma border, to teach a two-week intensive systematic phonics course. The class consisted of about thirty teachers of the Karen ethnic group, who are native to Burma. Those teachers will use this training in the Karen schools of both Burma and Thailand.

The team decided to use "Alpha-Phonics" as the main curriculum. Each Karen student received their own copy to have as a resource for teaching their classes later on. We chose your curriculum because it was not only simple and compact, but also very ESL-friendly. Everything that our teachers would need to instruct others was contained in the one book. This makes it much easier to take this course deep into the jungles of Burma.

Another aspect of the curriculum that the team was impressed with was the fact that this curriculum had the teachers reading words and sentences in the first few lessons. This helped them tremendously in seeing how the English letters relate to each other in a word, and then how those words relate in a sentence.

Each day our team taught three to four class sessions lasting about 1 hour each, separated by 15 minute breaks. Each session began with a flash-card drill of the various sounds of the English language. The first day was completely focused on the different sounds in the English language. We wanted to make sure that the Karen teachers understood those sounds, could write the English alphabet, would know the names of the letters, and would be able to say the sounds relatively well. On all the following days our team spent most of the time going through the "Alpha-Phonics" curriculum.

During the classes, our CFI teachers simply went through each lesson one at a time, showing the. Karen how to use the curriculum. The teacher's instructions in the back not only made the job easier, but also were a great resource for them for review and future reference in their own schools.

In the second week, we began having them teach not only their peers, but also some of the children from a Karen refugee camp in Thailand. This provided practice for use of the curriculum with children. They did very well and by the end of the two weeks, most of the class felt very comfortable using the "Alpha-Phonics" curriculum individually.

As a team, we were very pleased with the results that we saw from the course. The "Alpha-Phonics" curriculum helped tremendously and provided a great foundation for the students. They not only improved their knowledge of the sounds of the English language, but were also equipped with tools to pass this knowledge on. .

Thank you for the materials that your company provided. We are looking forward to using your curriculum in subsequent courses that CFI will provide.

Sincerely, David Servideo
Program Director Top of Page

Mom of 10 has taught 7 with Alpha-Phonics

Thank you for Alpha-Phonics. We have ten children and I have used the program for each child thus far. I am currently teaching number seven. I appreciate the efficient use of my time and energy. With no "fluff" built in, Alpha-Phonics is not frustrating to teacher or student.

Sally Sutterfield Top of Page

Proposes Santa Barbara schools adopt Alpha-Phonics

LETTERS TO THE EDITOR
SANTA BARBARA NEWS-PRESS

December 2, 2000

Reading primer would aid students

Recent proposals to improve education in Santa Barbara are very nice, and I am sure they are well intended. But with regard to "rescuing the 10 to 15 percent of students who now enter high school barely reading," there is a much simpler and cheaper solution: purchase copies of Samuel Blumenfeld's book, "Alpha-phonics: A Primer for Beginning Readers. "

Buy one for each student.

My children learned to be top readers with this book. Those 10 to 15 percent can, too.

When faced with a specific problem, find the simplest and cheapest tool to deal with that problem, not expensive programs, the scope and direction of which will be a bone of contention among competing political interests for decades to come.

Martin Faries, Lompoc Top of Page

"One day I found my 3 year old? completing lesson 2 all by himself."

June 17, 1994
Dear Mr. Blumenfeld,
I just had to write to tell you how thrilled I am with Alpha-Phonics. It is incredibly easy to use! It works marvelously! What a joy it is to teach my own child to read. It adds a special dimension to our relationship.

You have made Alpha-Phonics so simple; it's brilliant. I started home-schooling my five year old son, with four children and a brand new baby. With Alpha Phonics, any time I had fifteen minutes to spare, I'd just turn to the next lesson and we'd do it. Michael was progressing beautifully, and so naturally. Reading was not difficult. It was just systematic and took time and attention. It did not require strain.

One day I found my three year old at the kitchen; table reading S am, Sam; m an, man, and so on, completing Lesson 2 all by himself. I had not taught him. I had just taught him his letter sounds. He picked it up and did it himself. And that's just how simple this book is.

As we got along in the book, we would review, daily, earlier lessons and then do a new lesson. With your book, reading can be mastered, without stress or strain.

Your approach also totally fits my style. I am a busy person, like most of us today. I don't like alot of fuss and unnecessary frills. This one book does it all.

My sister-in-law showed me a reading program she recently purchased. There was this book and that book and this tape and that tape. And it was over $200.00! I didn't have the heart to tell her all she needed was Alpha Phonics, this unassuming looking book is brilliant, not to mention a small fraction of the cost. A thousand times thank you. You have made it simple and economical for any mom to impart to their own child the most important skill they will ever learn.

Sincerely,
Mrs. Kathryn Colasante Top of Page

"In just a few minutes a day my little girl has successfully been able to learn to read."

April 26,1997

Dear Friends,
I am writing to let you know how much we appreciate Alpha-Phonics. I bought it to use with my 6 year old last year. I had tried other curriculum with my older son, yet all programs were so much more complicated to teach and understand. In just a few minutes a day my little girl has successfully been able to learn to read!

Alpha-Phonics has not only worked for my little girl, but I have also been using it for a little boy I have been tutoring. He has been 'labeled' learning disabled and his teachers have just thrown him away. By the way, he first went to a local Christian School and now he is in Public School. This little boy is now learning to read. I see no difficulty at all in his learning ability! I am seeing an eager little boy learn to read when the professionals said he could not ever learn to read... by the way, I am just a mom with only 1 year of college!!

I think Alpha-Phonics works because it is straight phonics without all the Fluff! PLUS, I can now say personally that it works for all learning styles and even learning deficiencies... If there be any!! I will personally be recommending this wonderful program to all families that I counsel for curriculum needs! (My husband and I lead our area support group of 250 families and serve as coordinators for our church school.)

Well, may God continue to bless your work for Him!

Sincerely,
Mrs. Cindy Rushton Top of Page

Downs Syndrome 14 year old learns to read!

October 2, 1991
Dear Mr. Blumenfeld,

Thank you for Alpha-Phonics!

We have a 14-year-old son who has Downs Syndrome. He began his formal "education" at age of three. After 10 years of special education in the public school system, he had a reading vocabulary of 76 words. His teachers used a sight-word recognition system and considered that a "good score". He was very frustrated with his inability to read, so he would copy his siblings by pretending to read.

I began to search for a reading program. In reading through the home-school book section at the library, I found a recommendation for the book How to Tutor. After reading that book, I started our son on the phonics program immediately. Within one month, he could read over 100 words--more than he had learned in 10 years of schooling! ! ! I was thrilled and so was he.

We spent about a half hour a day after school, and he continued his progress slowly, but surely. Many of the words were unfamiliar to him, such as "rap" and "jab", so I explained the meanings and his vocabulary expanded. We have seen a remarkable change in his articulation. When he learned the "th" sound and saw that "bath" ended with "th", he stopped saying "baf". His speech is much clearer and his sentences are more complete.

It has been a year since we started the Alpha-phonics program and he is finishing the last pages. He is so pleased to be able to read library books, sing along with the hymns at church, and inform the driver what the signs along the road say. Our son does not have a very high I.Q., but he was able to learn to read using phonics. I am sure there are many children in special education programs that could also learn using this system, and I would highly recommend it to other parents. Thank you for Alpha-phonics!

Sincerely,
Jeanette Metzger Top of Page

"If there was one correct choice I made in curriculum when deciding to home-school, it was Alpha-Phonics."

Beth
Curriculum: Alpha-Phonics
Subject: Phonics
Author: Blumenfeld
Grade level: K and up
Dates used: August 2001 to present

Review:

If there was one correct choice I made in curriculum when deciding to homeschool, it was Alpha-Phonics. I got the $30 book (combined with the teacher's instructions in the back) and am thrilled with it. It is a no nonsense approach, and takes just a few minutes a day with wonderful results.
My 6 year old is now reading far above where he would if he were in school. I have started Alpha-Phonics with my 4 year old, at a very slow pace, and he too is already beginning to read.
I supplement this with Bob books and with Explode the Code (when my son was a little older) mostly to get used to spelling and writing.
I can't say enough about Alpha-Phonics. A fantastic program!

Review submitted: 13:45:52 06/16/02 Top of Page

"I can?t say enough things about this reading curriculum! Its non-consumable."

Danielle (66.44.40.61) kdc1@erols.com
Curriculum: Alpha-Phonics
Subject: Phonics Instruction
Author: Sam Blumenfeld

Review:

I can't say enough good things about this reading curriculum! It is non-consumable, so you could use it with more than one child, very inexpensive, simply presented and systematic. My child learned to read proficiently using one short lesson per day, and she is only four. The only thing it "needs" is a set of beginning readers for further practice, but the company does sell these, separately.

Review submitted: 19:28:13 04/12/02 Top of Page

"Found in Rainbow Resource Center Catolog"

Christine Montano
email sent - April, 2005

"Saw this product in the Rainbow Resource Center Catolog. Used Alpha-Phonics with both of my children and it works."

Top of Page

"The best reading program I have used!!!"

Gerilyn
email sent - March 9, 2005

"I am a repeat customer and this is the best reading program I have used!!!"

Dodgeville, WI. Top of Page

"I just had to write"

Dear Mr. Blumenfeld,

I just had to write to tell you how thrilled I am with Alpha-Phonics. It is incredibly easy to use! It works marvelously! What a joy it is to teach my own child to read. It adds a special dimension to our relationship.

You have made Alpha-Phonics so simple; it's brilliant. I started homeschooling my five year old son, with four children and a brand new baby. With Alpha Phonics, any time I had fifteen minutes to spare, I'd just turn to the next lesson and we'd do it. Michael was progressing beautifully, and so naturally. Reading was not difficult. It was just systematic and took time and attention. It did not require strain.

One day I found my three year old at the kitchen; table reading S am, Sam; m an, man, and so on, completing Lesson 2 all by himself. I had not taught him. I had just taught him his letter sounds. He picked it up and did it himself. And that's just how simple this book is.

As we got along in the book, we would review, daily, earlier lessons and then do a new lesson. With your book, reading can be mastered, without stress or strain.

Your approach also totally fits my style. I am a busy person, like most of us today. I don't like a lot of fuss and unnecessary frills. This one book does it all.

My sister-in-law showed me a reading program she recently purchased. There was this book and that book and this tape and that tape. And it was over $200.00! I didn't have the heart to tell her all she needed was Alpha Phonics, this unassuming looking book is brilliant, not to mention a small fraction of the cost.

A thousand times thank you. You have made it simple and economical for any mom to impart to their own child the most important skill they will ever learn.

Sincerely,
Mrs. Kathryn Colasante - June 17, 1994 Top of Page

"we appreciate Alpha-Phonics"

Dear Friends,

I am writing to let you know how much we appreciate Alpha-Phonics. I bought it to use with my 6 year old last year. I had tried other curriculum with my older son, yet all programs were so much more complicated to teach and understand. In just a few minutes a day my little girl has successfully been able to learn to read!

Alpha-Phonics has not only worked for my little girl, but I have also been using it for a little boy I have been tutoring. He has been 'labeled' learning disabled and his teachers have just thrown him away. By the way, he first went to a local Christian School and now he is in Public School. This little boy is now learning to read. I see no difficulty at all in his learning ability! I am seeing an eager little boy learn to read when the professionals said he could not ever learn to read... by the way, I am just a mom with only 1 year of college!!

I think Alpha-Phonics works because it is straight phonics without all the Fluff! PLUS, I can now say personally that it works for all learning styles and even learning deficiencies... If there be any!!

I will personally be recommending this wonderful program to all families that I counsel for curriculum needs! (My husband and I lead our area support group of 250 families and serve as coordinators for our church school covering.)

Well, may God continue to bless your work for Him!

Sincerely,
Mrs. Cindy Rushton April - 26,1997 Top of Page

"We have a 14-year-old son who has Downs Syndrome"

Dear Mr. Blumenfeld,

Thank you for Alpha-Phonics!

We have a 14-year-old son who has Downs Syndrome. He began his formal "education" at age of three. After 10 years of special education in the public school system, he had a reading vocabulary of 76 words. His teachers used a sight-word recognition system and considered that a "good score". He was very frustrated with his inability to read, so he would copy his siblings by pretending to read.

I began to search for a reading program. In reading through the home-school book section at the library, I found a recommendation for the book How to Tutor. After reading that book, I started our son on the phonics program immediately. Within one month, he could read over 100 words--more than he had learned in 10 years of schooling! ! ! I was thrilled and so was he.

We spent about a half hour a day after school, and he continued his progress slowly, but surely. Many of the words were unfamiliar to him, such as "rap" and "jab", so I explained the meanings and his vocabulary expanded. We have seen a remarkable change in his articulation. When he learned the "th" sound and saw that "bath" ended with "th", he stopped saying "baf". His speech is much clearer and his sentences are more complete.

It has been a year since we started the Alpha-phonics program and he is finishing the last pages. He is so pleased to be able to read library books, sing along with the hymns at church, and inform the driver what the signs along the road say. Our son does not have a very high I.Q., but he was able to learn to read using phonics. I am sure there are many children in special education programs that could also learn using this system, and I would highly recommend it to other parents.

Thank you for Alpha-phonics!

Sincerely,
Jeanette Metzger - October 2, 1991

Top of Page Home Page